NT Literary Awards

NT Literary Awards

Me, Mel & Cai
Hey Everyone,

On Wednesday night I had the privilege of attending the NT Literary Awards in the Northern Territory Library at Parliament House. I wasn't one of the finalists, but it was exciting to go along and support our local Northern Territory writers. Especially in the fabulous company of Cai Bohm from The Bookfeed Blog and Mel A Rowe from R & R Ramblings.

The night began with drinks, nibbles and mingling. It was great to see some familiar faces from the Darwin Writers Festival earlier in the year.

The Zip Print Short Story Award finalists
 There were seven categories on the Northern Territory Literary awards for poetry, flash fiction, short story, essay and theatre. These awards were for previously unpublished works from new and emerging writers living in the Northern Territory. A book with the works by winners and finalists was given to each attendee (here's the online PDF if you want to check it out)

The 2016 Territory Read NT Book of the Year Award was also presented. This award is given out every two years to a published book written by a Northern Territory resident. There are three categories for this award for Best YA or Children's Fiction, Best Non-Fiction and Chief Minister's Book of the Year Award. Congrats to all the finalists and winner.

Not all the fun was had in the library though... Much chatting (and some catching of Pokemon) was had on the way to the carpark. The hundred metre walk took 45 minutes. If you can't win them all then you can at least try to catch them all.

Congrats Shona Ford on making the finals
(and catching a Drowzee)

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post