Books

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

4:30 pm 4 Comments A+ a-

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, ambitious wizard, known only as the Dragon, to keep the wood's powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman must be handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as being lost to the wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows - everyone knows - that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia - all the things Agnieszka isn't - and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But no one can predict how or why the Dragon chooses a girl. And when he comes, it is not Kasia he will take with him.

From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.




Hey! Here's my review.

I picked this book up mainly to be part of a book club discussion, then was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I would describe it more as influenced by fairy tales, rather than a fairy tale retelling. It had the feel of a fairy tale, without being totally predictable. 

Although one of the main characters is called Dragon, there aren't any real dragons in the story. There are plenty of other strange beasts though. I loved the world building and how the author was able to make me change my opinions of some characters when deeper layers were revealed. I enjoyed the fact that this is a stand alone novel and didn't leave me hanging, waiting for a sequel.



★★★★

  • Where: Borrowbox
  • Format: ebook

Purchase link
Amazon 


Thanks for reading! To return to the FICTION WRITERS BLOG HOP on Julie Valerie’s Book Blog, click here: http://www.julievalerie.com/fiction-writers-blog-hop-jan-2016

4 comments

Write comments
Julie Valerie
AUTHOR
28 January 2016 at 04:42 delete

After reading your book review - not only do I want to read the book - but I think the cover is especially beautiful. Really evokes a sense of fairytale. Nicely done! Thanks for bringing this book to my attention - and I love your list of resources in the "Where I Find Books" tab of your menu bar. ;)

Reply
avatar
28 January 2016 at 10:10 delete

Hey Julie!
I love the cover too. I'm glad you found my resource list helpful. Thanks for organising the blog hop and hopping over here.

Reply
avatar
28 January 2016 at 13:32 delete

Sounds like a great read! I love it when I'm surprised by characters in a book.

Reply
avatar
28 January 2016 at 15:47 delete

I enjoyed it more than I expected. Might have to look out for more fairytale style novels.

Reply
avatar