Renee Conoulty: Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Books

Tuesday, 26 January 2016

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, ambitious wizard, known only as the Dragon, to keep the wood's powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman must be handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as being lost to the wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows - everyone knows - that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia - all the things Agnieszka isn't - and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But no one can predict how or why the Dragon chooses a girl. And when he comes, it is not Kasia he will take with him.

From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.




Hey! Here's my review.

I picked this book up mainly to be part of a book club discussion, then was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I would describe it more as influenced by fairy tales, rather than a fairy tale retelling. It had the feel of a fairy tale, without being totally predictable. 

Although one of the main characters is called Dragon, there aren't any real dragons in the story. There are plenty of other strange beasts though. I loved the world building and how the author was able to make me change my opinions of some characters when deeper layers were revealed. I enjoyed the fact that this is a stand alone novel and didn't leave me hanging, waiting for a sequel.



★★★★

  • Where: Borrowbox
  • Format: ebook

Purchase link
Amazon 


Thanks for reading! To return to the FICTION WRITERS BLOG HOP on Julie Valerie’s Book Blog, click here: http://www.julievalerie.com/fiction-writers-blog-hop-jan-2016

4 comments:

  1. After reading your book review - not only do I want to read the book - but I think the cover is especially beautiful. Really evokes a sense of fairytale. Nicely done! Thanks for bringing this book to my attention - and I love your list of resources in the "Where I Find Books" tab of your menu bar. ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hey Julie!
      I love the cover too. I'm glad you found my resource list helpful. Thanks for organising the blog hop and hopping over here.

      Delete
  2. Sounds like a great read! I love it when I'm surprised by characters in a book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I enjoyed it more than I expected. Might have to look out for more fairytale style novels.

      Delete