Books

The Golden Child by Wendy James

10:00 am 2 Comments A+ a-

Can bad children happen to good mothers? A totally absorbing novel, for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas.

Blogger Lizzy's life is buzzing, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions are simmering with her husband, mother-in-law and even her own mother. Her teenage daughters, once the objects of her existence, have moved beyond her grasp and one of them has shown signs of, well, thoughtlessness ...
Then a classmate of one daughter is callously bullied and the finger of blame is pointed at Beth's clever, beautiful child. Shattered, shamed and frightened, two families must negotiate worlds of cruelty they are totally ill-equipped for.
This is a novel that grapples with modern-day spectres of selfies, selfishness and cyberbullying. It plays with our fears of parenting, social media and Queen Bees, and it asks the question: just how well do you know your child?



Hey! Here's my review.

A domestic thriller about teenage bullying told from the alternating perspectives of the bully, the victim and both their mothers, interspersed with blog posts and social media exchanges. 

Can bad children happen to good mothers? It was that question on the cover that sucked me in. I grabbed this book without even reading the blurb and I was not disappointed. I sat on the edge of my seat, I giggled, I swore this could never happen to me, I tweeted the author to tell her how much I was enjoying it and dropped everything to add my favourite quote to Goodreads. I engaged. 


★★★★

  • Where: Borrowbox
  • Format: ebook

2 comments

Write comments
Janine K
AUTHOR
4 March 2017 at 12:04 delete

It was a good read wasn't it Renee, first book of Wendy's that I have read, will definitely look up her other ones 😀

Reply
avatar
4 March 2017 at 12:05 delete

It sure was. I'm recommending it to everyone.

Reply
avatar