Books

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

8:30 pm 0 Comments A+ a-

With a harrowing poetic voice, this contemporary page-turner is perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak, Julie Berry's All The Truth That's in Me, and the works of Ellen Hopkins.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust.

And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it's clear that Minnow knows something—but she's not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in oneself.
 




Hey! Here's my review.


Horrific and hopeful. 

This YA fiction took me inside the world of an imaginary but realistic cult called the Kevinians. It showed the insidiousness of the teachings and how the leader would manipulate things to stay in control. It also gave insight into everyday life inside juvenile detention. 

There was a touch of romance in the story, but it read more like a thriller. I was on the edge of my seat the whole way through, waiting to find out how the man that I wanted to kill myself, actually died.I found Minnow a likable character and I really wanted her to improve her life. 

The ending doesn't give you all the answers, but it does leave you with a sense of hope.  


I received this book free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

 ★★★★